The following individuals were appointed to serve on the College of Paramedics Transitional Council from March 31, 2018 to March 31, 2021.

Paramedic Members:

  • Brenna Eastman – (Paramedic representative, Northern Regional Health Authority), began her career in EMS as an EMR in 2006 and has been a paramedic since 2009. She is currently the EMS Manager – Clinical Standard with Shared Health in the Northern Region. She has spent her whole career serving the north.
  • Bryan Jacobsen (Paramedic representative Prairie Mountain Health), is currently employed with Shared Health Manitoba as an EMS Clinical Manager based in Dauphin. He is an Advanced Care Paramedic and is a member of the Governance committee.
  • Cam Ritzer, (Chief Allied Health Officer, with 12 years of experience with the Northern Regional Health Authority) began his career in 2001 and has been employed as a front-line Intermediate Care Paramedic, Primary Care Paramedic Educator with Red River College and as a Regional Manager of Clinical Services for the Northern Health Region. He has served as a Director and Chair of the Paramedic Association of Manitoba and is a member of the College’s Appointments Committee.
  • Christine Greer (Paramedic representative Prairie Mountain Health), has worked as a Paramedic in Manitoba for 12 years. Originally from Ontario she moved to Northern Manitoba to start her career. She has worked in northern and western Manitoba and now works at the Medical Transportation Coordination Centre (MTCC). She was a member of the Executive Director selection committee.
  • Karen Martin (Paramedic representative Winnipeg), is an Advanced Care Paramedic and the District Chief of Community Paramedicine with the Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service (WFPS). Karen began her EMS career in rural Manitoba in 1993 and joined the WFPS in June of 2000. Karen is also a member of the College of Paramedics of Manitoba Governance Committee.
  • Leah Braun (Paramedic representative Southern Health-Sante Sud) has been a Paramedic in EMS for 20 years and is currently working as a Superintendent in Portage la Prairie. She has served on the Manitoba Health exam team, as a member of the COPR national exam writing group, and as a member of the board of directors for the Paramedic Association of Manitoba.
  • Marilyn McNeill (Paramedic representative Interlake Eastern Regional Health Authority), is from Montreal and worked in wildlife biology and parasitology research before moving to Manitoba. She started with Pinawa EMS in 1993. Marilyn currently chairs the Appointments Committee.
  • Ryan Youngson (Firefighter Paramedic representative), is a Paramedic representative on council. He is currently employed as a Firefighter / Primary Care Paramedic with the City of Winnipeg. He has previously worked as a Paramedic in Winnipeg, and as a Firefighter / Paramedic in Thompson. In addition to serving on the College Transitional Council, Ryan is also a member of the Finance Audit and Risk Committee.
  • Sarah Peto (Firefighter Paramedic representative), is a Paramedic/Firefighter representative on Council. Sarah is employed by Brandon Fire & Emergency Services as an Acting Lieutenant and Paramedic. She currently sits on the Finance Audit and Risk Committee.
  • Tom Wallace – Chair Elect (Paramedic representative Winnipeg). Tom Wallace has been a Paramedic since 1997 and is currently licensed as an ACP.  He serves as the Deputy Chief responsible for support services with the Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service.  He is the Chair of the Governance Committee.

Public Members:

  • Dr. John Wade, Member of the Order of Canada, is Chair of the Transitional Council of the College of Paramedics of Manitoba and a public representative on Council. He is a retired physician and currently Professor and Dean Emeritus of the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba. Dr. Wade has held various leadership roles in medicine, academia and government, with a focus on patient safety and quality improvement.
  • David Driedger (CEO Haven-Group, the HavenGroup Foundation and Steinbach Housing) RN MN, is a public representative on the Council and has been involved in health care for over 40 years. David’s experience includes working in direct care, educator, and administrative roles in acute and long term care.  He is currently the CEO for HavenGroup and Steinbach Housing Inc. in Steinbach, Manitoba. David serves as a member of the Council’s Finance Audit and Risk Committee.
  • Jean Cox (Consultant and former ADM Health), is a public member of the College of Paramedics of Manitoba and serves as Treasurer to the Council and Chair of the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee. Prior to her retirement in 2017, Jean was Assistant Deputy Minister of Regional Policies and Programs at Manitoba Health, Seniors and Active Living. Jean has served on a number of provincial and a national Boards of Directors including Canadian Patient Safety Institute, Diagnostic Services Manitoba, CancerCare Manitoba and Misericordia Health Centre.
  • Jeff McConnell (Lawyer and former Mayor of Virden, Manitoba), is a public representative and a lawyer in Virden, Manitoba. Jeff grew up in Winnipeg but moved to Virden after being Called to the Bar in 1994. Jeff served on Virden Town Council from 1998 to 2010 as a councillor and from 2010 to 2018 as mayor. He was a board member for the Federation of Canadian Municipalities from 2003 to 2010 and a director for the Association of Manitoba Municipalities from 2017 to 2018. Jeff is also a member of Governance committee and Appointments committee.
  • Madeleine Baril (retired Registered Nurse and Health Care Administrator), is a public representative and a Registered Nurse who has served in the health sector for 38 years. Madeleine’s experience includes working in acute and long-term care as a general duty nurse and in health care administration for the last 25 years of her career. In 2018, Madeleine served a term as Interim Dean of the School of Nursing and Health Studies at the Université St-Boniface. Madeleine also serves on the Governance Committee.
Scroll to Top